This wikiHow teaches you how to recognize the signs that a Facebook friend has restricted the amount of personal information you can see on their profile. The “Restricted” list is different from the “Blocked” list in that restricted users can still view public posts and posts on mutual friends’ pages from the person who blocked them. Since the person isn’t blocked, people will still have the ability to see the comment by tapping on a message that appears, similar to how muted replies on Twitter look. Account owners will then have the ability to approve the comment so it’s public to everyone, delete it, or ignore it.
Your friends on except, restricted list won’t be able to view your posts again. A restricted friend will see your past posts if their audience was set to Publicbut if they were set toFriends,they won’t be able to see them again. We have written a very long guide on how to add friends to restricted list or individually restrict someone from seeing your posts.
A Facebook friend who has been restricted has simply been added to your Restricted list. They are still a Facebook friend and can communicate with you via direct message. You will also be able to continue seeing their posts in your feed as per usual. If you had set your audience privacy to Public, that means that everyone including restricted friends will see your posts.
Let’s understand how the restrict option differs from the block in terms of profile, messages, and comments. We have also covered how to restrict and block people on Instagram. Instagram users can now “restrict” any chosen individual, which gives a few, immediate perks.
Instagram is also removing notifications on comments that come from a restricted account, which is also similar to Twitter’s existing mute system. Restricted lists can be useful for when you want to write posts or share a link about something without having to read negative or controversial comments from close friends or family members. The Restricted list can also be a practical way to stay connected with co-workers on Facebook without them seeing more personal posts from you relating to your home or love life.
You can also select the See First option; if you click on Follow it will pop up. If you still don’t see posts, your friend may have privacy settings set to where you, certain people, or everyone is restricted. Have a mutual friend pull up the profile page and compare it to what you can see. On the other hand, if you want to avoid someone without letting them know, then restrict is a good option. When using restrict, your posts and stories are still accessible to the person.
What to Know About Restrict, Instagram’s New Anti-Bullying Feature
The next time you post, you select the “Friends” audience. Your supervisor will not be able to see the post – it won’t show up in his News Feed and he won’t be able to see it if he goes directly to your profile. However, if you choose a “Public” audience or you tag your supervisor in the post, he will be able to see it even though he’s on your restricted list. When you add someone to the Facebook restricted list, you remain friends with them while limiting the posts they’re able to see.
It will now be viewable by all of your Facebook friends except for those that you’ve added to the Restricted list. Anyone on your Restricted list will automatically be unable to view posts you make for Friends from this point forward. Friends on restricted list cannot see posts, photos, videos you share to friends only. Before you make a post, you should probably choose audience to “Friends”. If it is chosen to public, everybody sees your posts.
Any attempt to send a direct message will move to a message request, according to Instagram, and notifications won’t be sent. The message can still be read, but restricted accounts won’t be able to see when it’s read or when the person who has restricted them is active on Instagram. We have also taken a look at how to completely hide Facebook posts from others.
In addition to the Facebook restricted list, Facebook also has a Close Friends list and an Acquaintances list. Adding people to these lists can help you control what you see in your News Feed. You can also set your posts to be hidden from people on these lists. Let’s say you don’t want your supervisor to see everything you post on Facebook, so you add him to your restricted list.
- This wikiHow teaches you how to recognize the signs that a Facebook friend has restricted the amount of personal information you can see on their profile.
- Since the person isn’t blocked, people will still have the ability to see the comment by tapping on a message that appears, similar to how muted replies on Twitter look.
- The “Restricted” list is different from the “Blocked” list in that restricted users can still view public posts and posts on mutual friends’ pages from the person who blocked them.
In addition to limiting the reach of comments, direct messages from accounts you’ve restricted will also go to your ‘Message Request’ folder, and users won’t receive notifications from restricted accounts. In other words, you can shut down any commentor you chose, without that person knowing, which means they can go on thinking they’re reaching you, and your followers, but they won’t be. The “Restrict” tool is an additional precaution that people can take to protect themselves from harassment and bullying on the site. Instagram already allows people to block accounts and manage comments. Still, bullying is a problem on Instagram — one that the company has started to take seriously over the last few years.
Instagram Restrict vs Block: Which Privacy Option Should You Use
Understanding Facebook Restricted list is a complex privacy option for users that want to manage how their posts are shown and to whose News Feed. The Close Friends list is for people whose posts you want to see more of, while the Acquaintances list is for people whose posts you want to see less of.
They will only see your posts if you’ve set the audience to “Public” (indicated by the globe icon), if they’re tagged in it or if a mutual friend tags both of you in the post. They will not know that they’re on your restricted list. You will still be able to chat with them via Messenger and you’ll see their posts in your News Feed as normal. Go to the person’s profile page and make sure the Follow icon is highlighted.
What Happens to Comments
If a user chooses to restrict any individual, all of their future comments will be invisible to the public. This only pertains to comments on posts by the person who restricted them. The user can also choose to approve the comments to make them visible to all users. Restricting someone’s ability to comment will also affect direct messages.
What is restricted account on Instagram?
restricted account. A margin account in which the customer cannot purchase any additional stock on margin without putting up more equity. An account is restricted when its debit balance is greater than the loan value of the securities within the account. Also called blocked account.
If you want to stay connected on Facebook without unfriending someone, you can unfollow people on Facebook so their posts stop popping up in your feed. On an iPhone, go to the person’s profile and click the Friends icon under their profile photo. It’s most likely because whoever commented blocked you. Either that, or the person’s page you are on has his/her posts filtered so you can’t see his/her friends.
Facebook’s Restricted list is a feature that allows users to hide posts from specific friends on the social network by adding them to this list. Any Facebook friend can be added to or removed from this list at any time and there’s no limit to how many people can be on it.
But even with that proviso, there are clear benefits to the option. In many ways, its similar to the ‘Hide Comment’ option on Facebook, which enables you to get rid of unwanted comments for your followers, with only the original commentor and his/her friends able to see it. The mode can be activated for specific accounts by swiping left on a comment, heading to your privacy settings, or doing so on the person’s account. Restrict makes it so that “comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to that person,” according to a new Instagram blog post published today.
Let us know in the comments below how you’ve found this useful privacy setting. If you select “Friends”, the people on your restricted list will not see the post.